NellieD

By NellieD

For James

So today I was in Liverpool to perform with my sign language choir at KidsFest, an annual event hosted by the James Bulger Memorial Trust.

Everyone of a certain age will know the name James Bulger, and the horrific circumstances of his abduction and murder in 1993 when he was just two years old.

The James Bulger Memorial Trust was set up to mark his 21st birthday, to do good work in his name.  The main aims of the charity are to support young people have suffered bereavement (often because of violence) or have been victims of crime.  Everything they do at the charity, they do "For James".

We opened the show with 5 songs, my favourite being Uptown Funk by Bruno Mars!  The crowds hadn't arrived in any great number unfortunately so it would have been nice to have performed to a slightly bigger audience, but we all had fun.

I've only recently finished my level 1 BSL course, whereas quite a few in the group are level 6 and are theatre performance interpreters. I have a lot to learn! I knew all the routines but I think nerves got to me as I did make a few mistakes. As a perfectionist, I’m not sure I want to watch the videos to see which signs I got wrong!  It’s easy in the classroom, but standing up on a large stage adds in another level of nerves that can make your mind go blank!

Quote for today:
The terror of performing never goes away.  Instead, you get very, very comfortable being terrified.
- Eric Whitacre

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.