NellieD

By NellieD

Homeless Jesus

I was off work today as I was looking after my 11 year old niece.  We have an annual tradition that we buy her school shoes and trainers.  She doesn't live in Manchester so didn't know anything about the Bee in the City.  As well as all the shopping, we managed to photograph 28 bees and walked over 5 miles - 14,500 steps.  I'm shattered but it was a really lovely day, especially when she told me all about her school project when they had to write about 'a person that inspires you', and she said she had chosen me!  I didn't know anything about it but she obviously listens when I tell her about the things I do!  She talked about how my crochet group and book club bring people together and all the charity work I've organised.  It was so lovely and I was really quite touched.

My blip today is of the homeless Jesus statue in Manchester.  The statue was designed by Canadian artist, Timothy Schmalz, and is one of many identical statues that have been installed in cities around the world.  Manchester is the first in England after Westminster City Council rejected the application to have it installed near the Houses of Parliament.

The Revd Nigel Ashworth, the Rector of St Ann’s Church, said "the artwork would challenge passers-by to question their attitude towards homeless and marginalised people that they come across in their day-to-day lives.  By giving the homeless Jesus space outside St Ann's church, we are showing that we stand in solidarity with the poor and vulnerable, in the same way that Jesus had compassion for them in his earthly ministry.”

https://www.sculpturebytps.com/large-bronze-statues-and-sculptures/homeless-jesus/

When I took this picture today, I was amazed how many people stopped and walked back towards where I was photographing the sculpture because they obviously hadn't noticed it before.  If only everyone knew about blip!

Quote for today:
Be strong, you never know who you are inspiring.
- M R Kologie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.