Monarch on Red Clover

My morning rambles took me to Bernel Road Park on this morning. Everything was dripping with dew, and monarchs danced and chased each other across the wildflower meadows. It was like a dream of what a summer morning ought to be.

The clovers were especially lovely on this morning, and they were the chief source of butterfly breakfast. I snapped this shot of a monarch enjoying a snack. Does something pink taste better than something that's not? Hmmm, one wonders.

The news on this day brought us sad word of the passing of Aretha Franklin, Queen of Soul. And so my soundtrack song has got to be a tune by her. I picked one that is just extraordinarily joyful, but it has little if anything to do with this photo.

Except perhaps that it might describe me, the girl who's been washing in the ponds and shampooing her hair in the rain for the past week because we have no running water. Here's Aretha Franklin, with You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.