I Count Only Sunny Hours

The Dancing Girls have been leaping off their fuchsia plant on the porch every morning now, begging to go along with me. And so I obliged. And I took their little swing set along, just for fun.

There were many places we might have gone, so many adventures we might have had. But here is where we ended up: at the sundial in the kitchen garden at Centre Furnace Mansion.

The little sundial sits in a garden full of flowers, and it has a message on it that I admire: I count only sunny hours. So of course, the Crittergators and the Dancing Girls had to sit on it and pose for me as I snapped away.

In the air around and above our heads, an orange monarch flittered and fluttered, tasting each flower, jealous of all the fun that our tiny group was having on this beautiful, sunny, summer morning.

What time is it, anyway?
Why, it's time for fun, of course!

The soundtrack . . . there is only ONE song that will do, and it is this one: John Denver, with Sunshine on My Shoulders (music begins around one minute in).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.