Portrait of a Sunflower Lover

I am embarrassed to admit that I didn't know they were there: the pretty little community garden plots at Tom Tudek Memorial Park. A friend had posted photos of sunflowers on Facebook, and I wanted them so badly. Where could I go to see sunflowers? I asked. And a kind woman replied.

She told me about a park near a place where I used to live 30 years ago in this town. Back then, that area was still a big farm plot, and my husband-to-be and I walked through that area often. Now it is developed, but with the gardens, and the park, somehow smack dab in the middle.

Hungry for the sight of sunflowers, I tucked the news away. And resolved to myself that the first free moment I had, I would go there. I do have goals, you see: important stuff, like sunflowers.

And so I went! And it was awesome! There was a barn with horses. There was a big, fenced-in area, with individual garden plots, chock full of all kinds of growing things, including corn, and veggies. And there were lots and lots of sunflowers!

There were also birds. For wherever there are sunflowers, there MUST be birds. It is a law that is written somewhere. Because of the seeds, you know. The birds adore them.

And so I walked around that plot and I took many, many pictures. Of the barn. Of the horses. Of flowers like cosmos and zinnia. Of sunflowers. Of birds. Of bees, of which there were also plenty. Oh! And here is important news: I have fallen in love with a new tree!

Or rather, it is an old tree. A white oak, a friend informed me. I think I somehow knew that the moment I saw its shape. A big, wonderful tree beside the barn, against the summer sky.

I have lost a white oak earlier this year. I told you that story. Maybe you remember, as I do, the first time I photographed it. When I visited it that last time In March of this year, I did not know that I would have it for only a year. I did not KNOW that it was nearing the end. I didn't even get to say good-bye.

After that, I came to the great open field and found it empty and barren. My tree was gone. Such sorrow. But it was sorrow made ridiculous by a visit from cows. Life is like that. When you are crying, life will sometimes (but not always) toss something silly at you to make you laugh till your sides ache.

But as I was saying, I found another white oak. And I fell in love in an instant. I have a new tree now. And I will visit it in all of the seasons, and someday I will show you. Maybe I will wait until it snows. I do not think it will erase the sad memory of the other tree or replace it. But my heart is soft. I am ready to love again.

So I was thinking happy thoughts, and taking pictures of sunflowers, when I realized how much fun the birds were having. The garden plots are a great gift to the town birds, you see. They provide food, and shelter, and a place to hang out and meet other birds.

This particular bird made me laugh out loud. It kept flying up into the sunflowers and I presumed it was eating the seeds. It sat on the big sunflower. It flew down to the ground. It flew back up. Its wings beat a pattern on the air. It flittered, it fluttered, with great glee.

And then, in this wonderful moment, in sheer defiance of gravity, the little bird  hung absolutely UPSIDE-DOWN by its TOES!!! And it ate like that, with great gusto. I have to say, it reminded me of something or someone. Oh yes, it reminded me . . . of me!

I posted some pictures on Facebook, and was talking with a friend from another country who is also a bird lover. I remarked that these unexpectedly beautiful gardens were a godsend for the birds. She said yes (and added, quite wisely): if we each did just a little bit, the world could be a better place.

I think she's right. Love is simple, when you get right down to it. It is planting a garden, in the middle of town, for the sheer beauty of it all. For the enjoyment of the birds. And for the lovers . . . of sunflowers, whoever they may be.

The soundtrack: Elton John, Love Builds a Garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.