One of those days...

...Earlier I was watching white butterflies and speckled woods. They were going into the undergrowth for some reason. The wasps were watching and dived in after them...to kill and eat them.

The wasps are hungry this year. No aphids at all in my garden. This is very unusual. Was it the cold winter we had? Anyway, usually there are thousands upon thousands of aphids covering the tall willow branches, and the ants trundle up the branches to milk the honeydew. And the wasps come in swarms of hundreds to do the same. The wasps get drunken on the honeydew. But not this year because there are no aphids. Not a single one. I never ever use any pesticides in the garden.

So, it’s looking like the wasps are hungry and looking for food. They are even pouncing on the butterflies feeding of the Buddleia. Some butterflies sent the wasps packing, but not all were successful.

I went indoor because this was depressing to watch. Did some paperwork. Came back out. The wasps still are looking for food. So went back in with the thought of painting, but decided to make a cake in a mug in the microwave.

I had used the microwave earlier to heat some soup.

So mixed the cake mixture. I put the mug in the microwave. It is a plain china mug that was used earlier to heat up the soup.

I turned on the microwave...

Immediately there were yellow flames inside, shooting out in a constant stream, and out from out of the right side of the microwave engulfing the inside of the microwave totally.

I was stunned and couldn’t react for a nanosecond. Disbelief. Then I switched off at the socket. The flames went out instantly.

I looked through the glass door and the right side of the interior microwave wall was bulging out badly into the microwave.

My favourite china mug looked fine (!) and was sitting there with the uncooked cake in a mug mix still inside.

But I wasn’t opening it. The microwave was obviously beyond repair and unsafe.

The shooting yellow flame that engulfed the inside of the microwave happened immediately I turned the microwave on. In less two or three seconds, the time it took me to turn the microwave on and then off again, the yellow shooting flame or something internal within the casing had caused an outward explosion to force this big bulge into microwave interior.

It is now outside in the yard...

Checked the power, it never went off. Checked the sockets. They are fine and working.

The microwave had been clean inside. I cleaned it after each use.

So I googled. I had bought it about 5 years ago from Argos. It was their own cheaper range.

I find that this has happened to others from Argos.

Then I found this on You Tube.

https://youtu.be/AldYeGs14wo

Idiot! The guy videos his microwave from Argos, which looked very similar to mine. He videos it flaming and fireballing from the right side inside. He opens the door to show you the blackened right side, but it is still straight.

The difference to mine is that mine is not straight and bulging out into the interior of the microwave about 3 inches.

His microwave looks dirty inside. Mine was spotless white clean. I only use a cloth to keep the inside clean.

I have been sitting in the potting shed since. I realised I was suffering from a bit of a shock. So no painting done today. Popeye is sleeping on top of me...

I took a photo of a Red Campion seedhead and the seeds are still inside!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.