An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Pre-Party Party...

Well not really a party, just Alan's pal Andrew here for a sleepover before the official pool party tomorrow.  They are kicking back and watching Jungle Book with Ally and a certain Golden Girl who has managed to sneak her way onto Alan's sofa.  He says she's allowed so who am I to argue?

Tesco delivery came this morning and despite pre-ordering a platter of plain filling sandwiches and mini cheesecakes from their "entertainment" range, they didn't deliver them.  They did substitute them for sandwiches with different fillings and profiteroles so I accepted them as it didn't really matter on this occasion.  I would have been more annoyed if it had been gluten free I'd ordered and they hadn't delivered.  I did get a phone call from a very nice Tesco lady who was extremely apologetic and wanted to make sure I was happy with what I had received and thankfully they delivered the rest of the pre-ordered party food!

While David went off to pick up Alan's pal Andrew this afternoon, I got stuck into making a pile of Malteser slice, Andrew's favourite.  I will keep some back from the buffet table tomorrow so he can take some home with him.

A busy day of getting organised for tomorrow.  Pool towels and pool all ready.  David has taken Andrew for a fish supper and milk shake.  He likes to chat up the girl in the chippy and tells her her milkshakes are the best in town (I think they may also be the only milkshakes in town :-)  As we still have some furniture to move around to make the house more party like, we have opted for the easy option of a chippy for dinner too.

I really hope Alan has a great day tomorrow as on Monday we have to break the sad news to him that one of his team, Kirsten, will be leaving us in September.  He will be so sad as he adores her.  We are really sad too, as is she, but with a full time uni course and young family to juggle, something had to give.  I really hope she will keep in touch though as she is a little ray of light and feels (as they all do) like part of the family.

Ok, time for fish and chips then on with the party prep! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.