Well I never ever expected to drive to The Lake District just for the day, but that's what we did yesterday. 

We'd stopped in Grisebrook for a pot of tea before driving the last miles to Eskdale, and a couple of messages came in from other club members saying they were going home because the weather was so awful... what to do?  But after ten minutes imagining wet walks with the resulting wet clothes in a wet tent.... we turned tail and drove back home.  

I've done three camping meets with my club Skyline MC and it doesn't really work.  The first in the Wye Valley consisted of me and two other members, the second on The Gower saw no-one at all attending and this one ened up with three campers and and seven deserters!  I won't be going on another camping meet, because although I like camping, for me it has to be at a time when there's a good chance of fair weather, which means that you can't plan it far in advance.

So as an alternative activity, several members decided to go climbing at Stanage today and Mary and I joined them.  What a fabulous day, and this is Mary... I think on Central Trinity.

The extra is of Val's shadow as she belays her husband, neither of them like photos to be taken of them for the internet.  Although it doesn't look like it, Val was standing up. 

I love Stanage, what an amazingly long stretch of gritstone!

Edit: I've swapped the photos over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.