Purple

Another breezy, largely overcast day but not too hot, so I headed back to Lincolnshire to do some more botanical recording round Brauncewell. It's definitely feeling autumnal now, and many species have largely stopped flowering. Nevertheless I made some interesting finds including a stand of Lesser Meadow-rue by an old stone wall, and locally frequent Stemless Thistle on a road verge, the first time it's been recorded in that part of the county since the 1960's.

On my way home I dropped into the High Dyke SSSI again, this time looking at the verges of the B6403, which had also been mown. Some species had recovered and were flowering again, including this intensely purple Clustered Bellflower, which I photographed as lorries were thundering past, their drivers completely oblivious to the interesting flora so near to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.