Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Accelerating through university

I was invited to sit in on a first-year history of physics course today at York University where I work and study. Scott Menary is a physicist and has spent much time at particle accelerators from TRIUMF in Canada to CERN in Europe and many others. He invited me to see what the students were learning about accelerators (the history of on in particular is the subject of my Master's research as is its inventor Robert J. Van de Graaff, as regular blipper will well know) and I was delighted that he does indeed pay homage to Van de Graaff as one of the early pioneers in the field (as shown on this slide). Scott is acting as my physics mentor as I do my research into Robert and his eponymous machine. Scott's a great chap and a fine professor. He was part of the team that trapped anti-matter for 16 minutes - an astounding length of time. I'm lucky to have him consult on my understanding of early physics.

Apologies for the poor quality of this photo. My camera phone doesn't like dim light.

More blips featuring Van de Graaff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.