Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What's that?

Hummingbird:  Hey, what's that in your hand?
Me:  It's my brand new Nikon D850!
HB:  And...?
Me:  Well, it's only the camera I've been jonesing over since Nikon released it a year ago. You know, it's got a giant 47.5 MP sensor - do you have any idea what I can do with that?  And it shoots 9 frames per second!  And SO MUCH MORE.
HB:  Whatever.  I've got to go chase that danged P-Hummie away from my feeder.  Catch you later.

So, yesterday morning my husband was telling me how he had to order a replacement GoPro camera for the race car and that he had to also get some accessories to mount it, etc.  He ordered it from B&H and said that one of us needed to be here to sign for it.  So we took turns waiting.  Finally, when I dashed out to the farm, the box came.  It was sitting on the dining room table and I queried Hubs as to why he hadn't ripped it open yet.  Nonchalantly, he said that he had to do a couple of things first, and would I mind just slitting open the outer box.  

And when I opened it there was a big yellow Nikon box inside with the letters D850 emblazoned on the side.  I can't believe he bought this camera for me, and for no special reason.  I've been gliding around the patio and house on Cloud 9.  And, yes, I took it for a test drive on the patio today, mostly aiming at hummers.  And let me tell you, it's fantastic!  I still have a lot of reading to do to learn all the features, but fortunately for me, PhotoMatt is coming for a visit at the end of the week and he's had the D850 since it came out, so I'm counting on him to give me some pointers.

And, 8 monarchs flew today, each for someone special, including one that Hubs released for his brother.  That butterfly sat on his finger for the longest time...Two more monarchs emerged late this afternoon, both males, but I won't release them until tomorrow.  

The bamboo floor in my new workspace is all installed and now we have to put in the molding.  Once the molding is in, we can disassemble my desk and move it upstairs.  It's a big oak roll top, so nothing about that will be easy.  But the space is going to be wonderful and I can't wait to get moved in.

Okay, I'm going to float around some more on Cloud 9.  

xo
Debbi

PS:  And it won't come as much of a surprise to most of you to know that I collected that cute snowberry clearwing cat and put him, along with some honeysuckled cuttings in a butterfly enclosure.  Curious to see how big he will get...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.