Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Breaking the Rules

There are certain "rules" of photography that I usually follow, such as the rule of thirds.  I do that because, in most cases, having the subject offset is more visually impactful.  And I also like the rule of focusing on the subject's eyes - again, it has impact and creates a sense of intimacy.  When shooting butterflies, I like getting the dorsal (back) view or a nice side view - not a rule so much as a "norm".  

But today, I decided to put this beautiful Eastern Tiger Swallowtail female in dead-center of the frame, and to shoot her from underneath.  Not an eye in sight.  It's okay to break all the rules sometimes.

The friend I've been monarch cat-sitting for stopped by today to pick up her enclosure where she's got 7 healthy looking chrysalids and around 13 tiny little first/second instar cats (a gift form my garden).  She and her husband were in Charlottesville during last weekend's terrible events; their son is a surgeon at the hospital were the most serious victims of the car attack were taken.  Sad and horrible and so contrary to what out country should be about.  These are such divisive times.  Anyway, it was good to spend some time with her - she and her husband are two of my favorite people.

An otherwise quiet day.  I was going to plant some pots of rudbeckia in my new garden, but it was just too humid and warm.  So, instead, I pottered around and did a little weeding and a lot more poking about in the flowers.  I am so very pleased with the way this new garden space is coming along.  For the first year, it's exceeded my expectations.  Not all of the seeds I planted last fall germinated, so I'll do some selective planting again this fall - I want to get some patches of New England Aster going in the garden as well as Mountain Mint.  

I've posted four other shots (two butterflies and both species of clearwing moth) starting HERE on Flickr if you'd care to have a look.

No butterflies to release today and I suspect it willl be a few more days before the next batch of chrysalids are ready to go.  Meanwhile, there are a half dozen big fifth instar cats doing their walkabouts in preparation for pupating.  And I am still finding more tiny cats in the garden.  All are being rescued.  No sense feeding the spiders, wasps, etc - they've got plenty of other prey out there.

Hope you're all having a good weekend, filled with love, laughter and good food!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.