Another puzzle

Firstly a big thank you for your warm hearted good wishes for my 1500th. Blip. I was astonished to find that it reached the second place on page 1 of popular. I never expected that. Technically it was not a very good photograph. But it says something about Blipfoto in that it is not just about pictures. It is about generous people who are very kind to an old 83 year old. I hold all of you in warm regard and wish I could meet more of you.

Now for today.
This spider’s web was on the gate at the side of the house. The more observant of you will note that the gate needs painting.

I suppose I could have looked at it and thought thats pretty. It will make a blip.

But no, for good or bad I am not like that.

It raises several questions. I will stick to one for simplicity and so as not to try your patience.

The web has several horizontal threads which hold the circular ones together. So why are there no blobs of water on the horizontals?

Surface tension is a complex subject. But I know this will be read by a number of Physicists and Engineers. So I am hoping for some clues.
Mrs.K., who is a Mathematician, has suggested an answer but I will not reveal that until others have had a chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.