WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Stacked

Saturday's purchases to the rescue for my blip today. Yes, I was seduced by the blue pottery -- it was my favourite stall, and these bowls were not expensive. I made myself do a photo session with the 35 mm lens and the light tent -- an alternative, experimenting with shallow DOF, in extras.

Having thrown away the bread I made on Saturday, I made a conventional yeast-based fruit bread today, from my Italian baking book, and I'm happy to say that like every recipe from that book so far, except the ciabatta, it turned out really well. Quick and easy to do as well.

This evening I went to see a German film, In the Aisles, because our local paper gave it a rave review. It's a strange, quirky, and melancholic film, about the rather miserable and alienated lives of shelf-stackers in a large supermarket.  Virtually all the scenes take place in a gloomy warehouse or in the darkned supermarket at night. Nothing much happens, but it goes on for two hours anyway. Surprisingly given how low-key it is, with the main character Christian hardly ever saying a word, it did hold my attention until about the last half hour (90 minutes is my preferred film length). Somehow you do start to care about the characters' relationships, and you want Christian to succeed in his clumsy attempts at social contact. Plus the selection of music is brilliant (it starts with forklifts gliding around the warehouse to a Strauss waltz, and later there's a great Son House blues).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.