Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Installing Signs

I went swimming today, but I got up rather late, so I missed the first half of the open pool hours. I was already at the La Piscine Judaïque, but I realized that I wouldn't have enough time to relax and have fun and I also remembered that there was this event for Bordeaux swimmers that would close the pool to outsiders.

Since I was already in downtown Bordeaux, I decided to do a little exploring on Rue Judaïque since I've never been that way. As I was walking down the street, I came across Sam, who is also on the EAP program, coming down the opposite direction. I told him what I was up to and he said that there was a cemetery around the corner if I wanted to do a little exploring (he lives around that area). I've never really spoken to Sam before so it was nice getting to know him and seeing the interesting tombstones at cemetery. Unfortunately, Sam told me that photography wasn't allowed within the premises so I restrained myself from taking photos of the pretty intense graves.

After that I went to have lunch and Sam went back home to eat his prepared food from his host family. He told me there was this pretty cheap grocery store, Leader Price, that I could get some food. I bought my lunch and ate as I making my way back to the pool (I took the tram to a different pool, so I wasn't eating while walking.).
___

One more story.

Yesterday evening, Rosine's grandchildren came to spend the night. Oscar is 4 and his younger brother, Néo (inspired from the Matrix) is three. They're very cute kids and they were curious from where I came. Rosine told me that they call her Nona and Jacques, Nono, terms of endearment for grandmother and grandfather. When I found that out, I told Rosine that in the Philippines we call our grandparents Lola and Lolo. Very interesting, I would have to say. In the morning (about 7:30), Néo started calling for Nona and Nono and I was quickly awakened. I didn't think much about it since I would think Rosine would come up eventually. About 5 minutes go by and Néo is still calling for them and he begins crying. I thought to myself, I better do something. I put on a jacket and go to the neighboring bedroom where they were sleeping. I asked them if they were calling for Nono and Nona (I already know that, but I wanted to let them know that I was going to get them). Néo said yes and I told them I would get Nona.

Luckily, as I made it downstairs, Rosine had what appeared came from the bathroom. I told her Néo was calling for her and she quickly came up stairs. Later in the morning I asked her what was wrong and I didn't get a straight answer. She said that she usually hears them and asked me if I had closed the door leading towards the stairs. I didn't quite understand the first time she asked, so she asked again. I'm not sure if I gave the correct response, but I'm hoping she understands that I didn't close the door.

BACKBLIPPED:
Thursday, February 5, 2009
Friday, February 6, 2009

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.