Under the archway...

I had to wait a while for someone to come along and photobomb this peep through the archway to the Constables Office. Constables are nothing to do with police but each parish has a junior and senior constable who effectively runs the parish. They go along to Douzaine Meetings (Douzaine =12) and the twelve douzeniers form the Douzaine which is parish council.
At one time I was Junior Constable of Torteval which is the smallest parish in Guernsey. Constables, especially in the country parishes usually serve two years as Procurers of the Poor before moving on to Constable. Back when I served in the mid 90s we still had the power to refuse payment to the unemployed. I remember one person I refused to give money to who gave his reason for being unable to get a job that people kept expecting him to go for morning interviews when he didn’t get out of bed till the afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.