Not an imaginative name for a house...

... but I prefer that to trying to combine two names. Truth be told I like the UK idea that houses have numbers but few out of town have numbers over here.

I owned a bungalow in Wales once that had no number. It had been a bakery and when it was converted to a dwelling all the numbers were in use so it just had a name. When I came to see it most Estate Agents were most upset that it had no number and on3 even insisted that since it was next to 29 it must be 31. But 31 was in the next block...

When I lived in Brigg there was a hiuse called “Number Two” and below that a notice saying “This house is not No 2. It never has been and it never will. It’s name is “Number Two”. I wish it had shared the reason why with us...

So why have I blipped Forty? Welll this is the house I am moving into in November. I just had a second viewing to decide whether my furniture would fit or not. I reckon it will....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.