Rīga, day one

I was very sad to be leaving Vilnius and when we arrived, tired, in the busy city of Rīga, I admit to a few regrets.

We’ve had a terrific, varied day in Rīga and I’m now totally enchanted.

Our guide is brilliant. We started the day visiting some of the residential and out of town spots. She was fascinating about the suffering in the past and the complexities of the present day.

She took us round the Art Nouveau area - wonderful and my extra - and then we walked around the Medieval Old Town.

She told us where we could eat with locals. She suggested things we could try.

I enjoyed the beauty and the art of the gardens around the impressive National Opera (where the big Latvian stars such as Andris Nelson, Kristine Opolais and others learned their craft.)

I went on a boat from the Opera house right along the river and back through the port and Marina.

Exhausted, I’m hooked.

My main blip is the Monument of Freedom, very special, and one of the few statues of which the majority of Latvians approve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.