Learning

My sister and her family gave me this beautiful elegant bird feeder for my birthday. No - it's not my birthday, but, when she bought the gift she put it in a safe place........... well, it's turned up and she gave it to me when I saw her on Friday.

Goldfinches will do anything for sunflower hearts. I have two conventional feeders, each with two perches, and they come in large numbers, queue up, fight, fly at each other and knock each other off. Even my robin and the tits have learned how to tuck in. There can be as many as twenty birds at a time.

The new feeder is different. It's one of these enclosed ones that require them to fly in.

I put sunflower hearts in the main part (really intended for peanuts) and the seeds fall to the base. I also added a few mealworms.

For the first day, NONE went near it.

Yesterday I spotted a sole adventurer checking it out.

This morning, when I got back after my swim, this bold adolescent goldfinch had mastered it. In and out. No trouble. Avoiding the chaos above and around him. At one point another settled to watch him......

I'll keep you posted. I've got a feeling this may be quite a success.

Thank you sister.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.