Cupola

This is the cupola above the very beautiful white marble chapel in Mount Stuart on Bute. 

We took my younger brother and his daughter India there this afternoon and the visitor experience was even better than it had  previously been - knowledgeable room guides, much greater access and freedom to take pictures as you chose.   The garden and woods were also looking good after a warm summer. 

I still regard the place as one of the most lovely buildings in Scotland - certainly on my personal shortlist of the top ten, or five, or even two.

My extra pictures are of the inside of the chapel and a surprising one - I hadn't seen Johnny Dumfries ( as he was - now the 7th Marquis ) for a long time as he is no longer resident on the island but I almost literally bumped into him as we were leaving and  after a brief chat he was happy to  be pictured in the great hall with my niece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.