My water garden...

... is filled with goldfishes :-)

The best thing with goldfishes is that they are not territorial. That means they are always friendly towards each other and care about the others. 

It's not true that goldfishes have a 3 seconds memory. I have no idea who came up with that silly idea. Goldfishes have scientifically proved at least 5 months memory, and in my experience much longer.  

They recognise faces and are curious and very sociable if they trust you. What they enjoy the most are the few moments per year I step into the pond to fix something og rearrange something. 

If they are in danger the biggest will take the lead and gather the fishes so they stick together in the deepest areas. It's looks like a Shepard dog collecting the sheep. Also if they arrive to new ponds the biggest will be in front to check the area and the others will follow in a long line. 

If they have enough space in the pond and the water is of good quality they can be about 15 years old. 

I have had the pond for 6 years now and it gives the garden the serene feel that I love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.