Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Staredown

I love it when I find something new in the garden; so when I spotted this very interesting fly, I was happy I had the macro lens with me.  Also happy the little fly didn't ... fly.  Happier still to get a reasonably good shot of it's crazy colored eyes.  I believe this is a Soldier Fly (Family Stratiomyidae), possibly in the Genus Oxycera, although I need to do some research to confirm.  I'll amend this when I know for sure.  And if you'd like to see a side view, showing his bee-like design, click HERE to view on Flickr

We had a wonderful visit with our nephew, his wife and little son.  We all went over to the Home and brought pizzas - and although MIL was a little confused, I think she enjoyed herself.  They stayed in a motel down the road from us (child, dog, and very pregnant wife needed a little more room than we currently have) but all came over for breakfast this morning.  They are getting ready to move to Texas for my nephew's next Army post, and since we won't see them for a while, so it was good to have some time.  Yesterday little Nathan wanted to take pictures so I helped him take some shots with the D600.  I'll put a shot in Extra - I think the kid's a natural.

Although today's photo was taken with the D750, I am loving that D850 SO much!  I have the 300 prime lens on it and plan to get some hummer shots tomorrow.  Stay tuned.

Thank you for stopping by. And thanks to Osuzanna for hosting TinyTuesday

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.