The Currituck Lighthouse.......

The Currituck Lighthouse is located on the Corolla Island of the Outer Banks.  Only....  most of the islands are connected now.  After several hundred years of shifting sand and rough winter weather, the channels between the islands are now closed.  The Corolla Sound is actually only 10-12% saline.  The wild Spanish horses are able to drink the sound water and remain healthy.
      During WW11 the owners of the land in this area, allowed service men to live near the lighthouse.  They would ride horses at night and patrol the beaches for  boat sailors trying to land on US shores or survivors from the hundreds and hundreds the boats sunk.  The survivors would be pulled ashore and taken to homes for dry clothes and warm food.  There was also a skiff the owners had that allowed the service men to go out in the Atlantic and try to find survivors.  These service men were the first vestiges of the US Coast Guard.
        The first extra is of the boathouse where the skiffs were kept.  The lighthouse can be seen towering over the boathouse.
      The second extra is of the palatial (during that time) home of the Knight's.  I wasn't allowed to take pictures inside, you will have to take my word for the beautiful chandelier 's, Tiffany glasswares, the Otis elevator installed in the clear, the coal furnace that generated steam for heat, the generator which powered the lights, the gunroom for when they went out hunting, and so much more.  The owners, however didn't keep all the comforts for themselves.  They put running water in the servants quarters , flush toilets so no-one had to deal with chamber pots, educated the helps children, heated the 2nd and 3rd floors for them......    It was reported that there was great affection between the staff and owners.
     I also had the good fortune to have a Wine Tasting Festival going  the same time I was there.  Since I had never been to one of those I had to see what it was all about.  I went to the first winery wagon.   I was served 1 oz of wine for  9 different types of wine.  I found 3 I really liked!  The people were wonderful, having a great deal of fun, the micro brewery was the most popular, I tried several, and then headed over to the lighthouse.  By the time I got back, I bought some crackers, a tangerine, some cheese, had a meal and felt well enough to safely drive home.
WHAT A FUN DAY WAS HAD BY ME!   Another saga in Joyce's life!

   Tomorrow I am heading south to Cape Hatteras to find more lighthouses and graveyard of ships.  Many skeletons of ships are supposed to still be sitting in the shoals.
   But for now, I am tired and going to bed.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.