Otters on the rocks

Last night's performance of Aly Bain and Phil Cunningham on Mull was absolutely superb. I hadn't seen them on stage before, but they were magic! Bunessan Village Hall is not that big, but there might have been up to 130-140 folk  there. The duo began by saying that they had nothing organised and were going to play it by ear, though they probably always say that! It certainly appeared that way, and not only was their music quite superb, but their patter was very funny! They played a good range of music including what they said were Swedish waltzes, but who knows. A lot of it was slower than I expected, but that went down well. A wonderful evening.

This morning we set off around the scenic west coast route to Knock to watch the sheepdog trials. En route we saw countless herons and two otters swimming. Further on we were pleased to see a couple of otters playing on the rocks and though they were quite a long way away I took a few pictures and decided to use one as my Blip today. There was nowhere on this winding single-track road to stop, or I might have tried to get closer - the picture therefore isn't as sharp as I would have liked.

The sheepdog trials were very good - I've put one picture on as an extra. Luckily the weather behaved itself, though it deteriorated on the way back to Oban! I had hoped to finish the day with a visit to the Argyllshire Gathering, but was home too late and it was wet, so I didn't go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.