JohnMcCannLearn

By StillLearning

Keef

There is a bit of a Rolling Stones fest at the moment and I think the world is better for that. 50 years is a long time for a rock band though not every year (or decade) has been good. But when it has been good, it has been brilliant.

When the kids were starting to move from pop music to things more lasting, they were intrigued by my interest and dedication to the Stones. I made no attempt to indoctrinate - the Stones were mine. One year, they bought me tickets to see them at Murrayfield (Bridges to Babylon) in Edinburgh.

The concert was postponed for a year (tax reasons) by which time they decided the kids had decided they wanted to go themselves - I think out of curiosity. They were very careful NOT to buy tickets anywhere near us. Fine, we had no problem agreeing to that particular condition.

By the end of the concert, they were fans. They had now seen a REAL rock concert!

They were still at school and Iona did a head of Keith Richards. I am sure she has long forgotten that. It seems appropriate for these times. It has gathered much dust and there is a roughness about it which is Keef. At the back is a treasured possession of the Stones first LP. I 'borrowed' it from an uncle about 45 years ago. He hasn't asked it for it back yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.