Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Bathed in a Rosie Glow

Chris: Last day at work for a week for me, I'm looking forward to the break. Tonight Rosie and I had a play in the garden with some new glow sticks whilst the crispy chicken was in the oven for the fajitas, yummy!!!

Annie: A busy day with the usual 200 mile round trip commute to Bristol. But today was good - I went home with a sense of completion and achievement. A piece of work I'd been battling with since June was finally all signed off. Time to get home and have a well-deserved glass of wine.

I'm going to be controversial here: I can't stand "Children in Need" (for those who don't know the name, it's a UK-based Charity telethon on the BBC, on tonight). Before everyone stages an uprising and drums me off the site, it's not the concept of raising money for children in need of help that I don't like. The young scholars I met yesterday were a total inspiration, I volunteer in a local school, and I am very happy to give to such charities - only wishing I could give even more time to them. No, the thing I can't stand is the stilted "comedy" of badly scripted TV show crossovers. But worse, so much worse (and it comes every year) are the dancing news readers. I don't want to see my serious news readers donning fishnet tights, dancing to some alluring tune. It's just wrong. I've kept this dark secret within our household to date but there - I've let it out. Phew. Time to donate as penance. Sorry, Pudsey.

For those of you that read yesterday's blip in puzzlement before we corrected my idiot mis-typing (thanks for spotting it, dennisbarlow), the sentence should have read: "...supporting bright young people from less privileged backgrounds through university"; instead what I accidentally typed was: "...supporting bright young people from privileged backgrounds through university". Oops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.