Abstract Thursday : : Texture

The old stump is in the field behind our neighbor's house. Ozzie and I took a deer trail through the field up to the road today and I happened to notice this extraordinary stump. I'm sure I've seen it before, but it caught my eye in a different way today. When I put the picture up on the computer, I was struck by the layers of colors and textures behind it. I fiddled around with this picture with various apps, but in the end I left it alone because the texture of the stump, which is riddled with some sort of insect holes, showed up best when the image was left to stand on its own.

With Kathy in the hospital still recovering from surgery we stayed home too and wondered what to do. 

I don't know why it is but we are both very reluctant to do anything about organizing an emergency evacuation bag in case of another fire. 
We had different memories about whatever happened to the big plastic bin we got together after the Loma Prieta earthquake in 1989, but OilMan decided  agreed to move his car, pull down the ladder and venture up to the crawl space above the garage to look for it. He found the big blue bin but all we found was an emergency supplies checklist and some camping gear. No sign of the:
extra pair of eyeglasses.               water purification kit
first aid kit, freshly stocked.       essential medications
food.   cash.   plastic utensils.     change of clothing.     
heavy gloves.    sturdy shoes.      bicycle.    city map 
tool kit or any of the other 20 or so items on the list. They were all in there at one time because the list says: stocking up now on emergency supplies can add to your safety and comfort during and after an earthquake. Store enough supplies for at least 72 hours.  When we moved I think we decided that most of the items on the list were not going to make much difference if our house was destroyed,  so we got rid of all the stuff we put in there except the camping gear.

Now we've just gotten a list from the electric company with instructions to stock up with supplies to last a week. It hasn't changed much. The only major change I can see is that instead of communication kit: paper, pens, stamps, it now says: mobile phone, include a portable charger.

I think we'll just follow our initial inclination which is to do nothing....If the whole place goes I don't think we're going to be camping here anyway....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.