The Arts District

Sonoma County has quite a vibrant art community and what better way to advertise it than to turn your studio into a mural? I found myself in what is known as 'the Arts District' this morning...a rather grandiose name for a one block square assortment of warehouse type studios and turn of the century bungalows,  but still a pleasant place to wander around. I chose these murals from two different studios just because they couldn't be more different from each other. The studios in the area are as diverse as their murals and there will soon be a new cafe around the corner opened by Bob's friend Mamadou. 

Bob was his usual irrepressible self this morning when I found him dancing by himself in the parking lot outside the Pilates studio. When he invited me, it was impossible not to join him for a moment...

The claims adjuster from our auto insurance company called me this morning. He was a very pleasant fellow who did seem to do as he said in his introductory e-mail, "...we strive to make your claims experience as easy and smooth as possible. We'll work with you throughout the process to provide fast, caring service and to resolve your claim fairly..."
The best thing about him, however, was his name, Theophilus Osei-boakye. I told him so. 

I am perfecting my "green drinks" made in the Vitamix blender I bought at Costco. The key is to put a little fruit into the mix of spinach and kale so that it doesn't look (and taste) like pond scum. Today's version was kale, spinach, cucumber, celery, apple and pineapple with a little almond milk. I don't think I could survive on a diet of green smoothies as some people seem to do from time to time, but it's a good way to use up slightly tired veggies and is surprisingly satisfying. It will probably be tomorrow's version too since There is still another jar of it in the fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.