I phoned work and explained, then got ready and went into Reading. I picked up a few toiletries for Jeanie and had my free tea and cake in John Lewis before making my way to the hospital. She had not had surgery when I arrived, (yesterday they said it would be early to mid morning), and was very drowsy, but the lovely ladies opposite told me she had been awake and shouting a lot during the night, calling for her Dad. The staff kept saying it would be with in the next hour or two, Jeanie began to be more alert but foul tempered, calling me names etc. and repeatedly taking off the bandage over the cannula however much I tried to distract her. In the end she pulled the cannula right out and through it at me. At about 4.30 they said her op was cancelled for the day. As her mood plummeted further, I came away. I hope the staff and the other ladies in her bay are thick skinned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.