Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Ironweed

This ironweed is one of my favorite wildflowers. It stands from about 2 ft to 7 ft tall - this one is every bit of 7 feet! I have tried over the years to get it established in my garden - which I have to some small degree. This plant is out behind the house below the kitchen window. It might have been the result of my tossing seed around, or it might have self-seeded. In any case, I now know to expect it there. I found another in a different area of the garden that probably volunteered itself. The trouble is, if they come up in an area that I weed fairly thoroughly in the Spring, I'm likely to inadvertently pull them up. I'm reasonably good at recognizing them once they get going and are 6 inches tall or so, but early on they just look like another weed. There are a lot of big tall yellow flowered weed things that spring up all over the place and I am always trying to restrain them - so these nice purple things get snuffed out accidentally. Anyhoo, I'll once again try to sprinkle their seeds here and there later this Fall.

This is covering two challenges - Flower Friday and Wild Flower Week! Thanks to Anni and Miranda!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.