Intersections

I could have blipped a classic northwest late November afternoon scene.

Or a classic bicycle, just the kind I'd like to have now, having not been on a bicycle since the early 1970s.

Instead, I went the abstract route, finding this corner of the Whatcom Museum's Lightcatcher Building very appealing, even though I'm not usually drawn to straight lines. We were there this evening for a members' only preview of the latest exhibit, California Impressionism: Selections from the Irvine Museum, which opens to the public on Saturday.

Among the several very pleasant intersections we experienced at the preview was running into ArtistAnnie and her husband Arvin. We had a fine time catching up on camera and vacation news, while also admiring the many beautiful paintings on exhibit. Ann and I had a good laugh over our inadvertent "twin" outfits and bags (see Phil's blip).

Phil and I plan to return to the exhibit, which runs through February 17, 2013 and will be especially attractive in the darkest time of the year, as many of the paintings are imbued with the golden light of southern California. (Irvine is in Orange County, the home of Disneyland
and 24 miles of beaches, among other tourist attractions.)

(My daughter arrives Saturday morning for a weekend visit, so I may not be commenting for a day or two, falling still further behind...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.