I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Mount Charleston Tour

Tony didn't play golf this morning so we decided to drive up to Mount Charleston for some cooler weather and different scenery. 

The first thing we was were some of the wild horses (well known on the mountain, see first extra). They were not bothered at all with me and continued to graze, not even looking up.

Tony and Bunker went in the opposite direction. Bunker was busy marking everywhere and kicking up dust behind him. It was hilarious to watch. (see second extra). We saw a few more horses in another meadow. They are looking pretty healthy. One year I saw them it was obvious that there wasn't much to eat. They were all so skinny.

There is a new (to us) visitor center with the memorial for the Cold War heroes. The propeller is from the Douglas C-54 plane that went down on Mt. Charleston. It was carrying 14 people to Area 51 to work on a highly secret spy plane, when it ran into an early winter storm and crashed into the mountain. 

The family members and rescuers did not know what happened to their loved ones for over 40 years. If you want to read more click here. It is a website about the accident and the memorial. Very interesting reading. 

And here I thought Area 51 was all about aliens!

I am grateful for an opportunity to get away from the house and see some pretty interesting things today. I did really well walking around on uneven ground and my knee isn't barking at me. (that is Bunker's job)

I am still planning on catching up with all of you soon. In the meantime, thanks again for dropping by.

Until tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.