Enjoy The Abstract, Love The Real

Out for a 22 kilometers run this morning where I knew I could get a blip to link to one of my favourite films.

The first time I saw Aron Ralston was in an interview with Larry King. I thought he was amazing, an inspiration. Still do. But when I saw his bio-pic, I realised that he was also something of a jerk, in exactly the same way that I was (was, I hope) very much a jerk. We had a lot in common in the same bad way, and we both realised why we were jerks and made corrections. Thankfully, I didn't need to cut off my forearm to learn the error of my ways. Why were we jerks? I think what Julian Lennon said about his father pretty much sums it up; "My father loved the whole world, but he didn't love me." It's easy to love abstractions, like the human race or planet Earth, because they demand nothing in return; the challenge is to give your heart and soul to real individuals. That is the message I get from this remarkable film.

I Am A Rock. A fitting metaphor considering the agent of change in this film. Do you know the film I'm talking about it?  

My Little Universe 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.