It's Too Bright!!

Like yesterday's film (which nobody has guessed yet), this is another bio-pic which had a great impact on my life. I read the equally harrowing autobiography, upon which the film is based, in my early teens. The title of the autobiography is Wir Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo, which is why I have a photograph of a train station.

More than any other book I have ever read, with the exception, possibly, of Philip K. Dick's A Scanner Darkly, or any film I have ever watched, this is the one that bought home to me the devastating effect that illegal drugs invariably have upon a person's life. As a result, I have never touched illegal drugs, cigarettes or alcohol. I don't think I'm missing out on much. Sadly, the author and subject of the film failed to learn from her own experiences and fell back into drug addiction following the events recounted in both the printed and filmed versions of her life, despite the fact that David Bowie appeared in the bio-pic because he was her favourite singer and his performance of It Ain't Easy at a concert she attended was the catalyst for her to come off of drugs.

Do you know the name of this harrowing film?

Drugs     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.