biddy

By biddy

August Bank Holiday. Wet wet wet!

This morning was warmer than yesterday and damp, after the heavy, much needed rain. 
We had our breakfast after my usual routine of coming  downstairs when Tiger began his morning loud miaows, and feeding him his food. 
He went off up the garden to sit on the 6 foot high back fence.
I have no idea why he finds it comfortable, perched on the narrow edge along the top. Still, better than a bed of nails! 
  He uses the compost tardis bins to jump on, as I don't think now he can actually manage 6 feet in one go. Especially as the vet clipped his claws on Friday to stop him from scratching his right ear too much. (A common occurrence, and I have the wonderful job of cleaning both his ears fairly regularly! However that is a digression!) 
     Shortly afterwards it began to rain once more and this time I think it is supposed to be like this for much of the day.
    I planted a yucca cutting out in the front garden years back, when one of my elderly neighbours came round and gave it to us. 
She was moving into a ground-floor flat not far away, and knew that I admired her own which flowered in her back garden each year.
She died several years ago in her 90's She was a good friend. Age makes no difference. Her own hubby died not long after we moved to our house here in 1981 and he was only 63.years old. 
It flowered after about 5 years and I was so pleased! 
I do have to keep it in check and "prune" it from time to time, which really means trying to avoid being scratched whilst hacking off some of the new shoots. They are amazingly resilient! It was buried under a shed load of snow in March, after a particularly hard winter.  
   The flowers do not last that long so I will post another photo when they are fully opened. 
  Looking out of the front window the raindrops are dripping off the climbing hydrangea. 
Tiger is fast asleep on the settee. He came back inside when he began to get wet.    
    
         
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.