Seaplaning

My flight from Barra back to Glasgow was scheduled for 12:30 today, so really that was the only event - unless you count the drive home from Glasgow (which was fast and trouble free).

The weather on Barra was cool, wet and windy so it’s just as well I had no other plans for the morning.

The weather made the flight more exciting than usual. I hear Loganair pilots deal with most of it, but wind at 25mph (40kph) and stronger gusts, did make me realise I might be facing an extra night. 

The wee plane was rocking about in the wind even when it was stationary, but we did get up in a cloud of saltwater spray.

It must have been spectacular to watch, and as there’s nothing else to do on a wet Sunday lunchtime on Barra, the crowd was quite big.   

The weather meant getting a Blip was difficult. I’ve had to settle for one of the cabin in our DHC6 Twin Otter just before takeoff. I was sitting in the back row. The Extra is the view from my porthole window.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.