Eiriosgaigh

Another wonderful day. 

Soon after breakfast - with a day of sunshine forecast - I set off to cycle to Eriskay/Eiriosgaigh. It’s the next inhabited island (pop 190) as you go north from here, and a 40 minute ferry trip as well as cycling to the other end of Barra.  

A fantastic trip. Not far from the ferry terminal on Eriskay I found the perfect picnic spot. The most I’ve enjoyed a supermarket sandwich in a along time. The view gets Blipped.  

The Extra is the view from my bedroom window at 06:45 as the Oban ferry prepared to leave.  

I reckon I cycled about 19 miles (30 km) today - it was fun, but tough too. I had only one long, steep hill to deal with, but there’s no such thing as “flat” on the island. The roads undulate constantly. 

Oh, and guess who managed to forget to bring not only sunscreen, but insect repellent too. Who let me out without my carer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.