Unique

What a day!

It started with the short drive to Glasgow Airport to catch Loganair’s 10:15 flight to Barra - Barraigh to the locals. 

Barra is the airport where the planes land on the beach. Loganair uses the 18 seat DHC6 Twin Otter so the whole experience is out of the ordinary. It is fun.

Next stop was my hotel in Castlebay/Bàgh A’Chaisteil via the local bus. Castlebay is stunning, in a Western Isles kind of way. 

I’d arranged to rent a bike for 2 days, so in the afternoon I cycled over to Vatersay/Bhatarsaigh. Vatersay is the island just south of Barra and the last inhabited one at the south end of the archipelago. 

To my astonishment I didn’t get soaked - except with sweat. I reckon it was 5 miles (8km) each way - not that much distance but there’s an 11% gradient at one point along the way.   

It was all worth it. Stunning (plus I got excellent coffee and home baked cake at the community cafe).  

The Blip is Loganair’s co-pilot getting everything ready for us to disembark. The Extras are another disembarkation shot, and one of Vatersay Bay/Bàgh Bhatarsaigh. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.