So Long

It has been another long and busy day. 

Work was fine, and after getting home I finished my packing and hit the road on stage 1 of the weekend adventure - driving to Glasgow. I deliberately waited until 6pm before I left, in the hope I’d miss the evening rush hour.

Well, I tried. A 60 minute drive took 90 minutes, and the congestion coming into Glasgow at 7.30pm really surprised me. 

Visiting Glasgow can bring out the best or the worst in me. I lived here for 17 years. I got married here. My son was born here. It has so many happy memories, but also plenty dark ones. 

I’m staying in the Novotel, which didn’t exist back then. It is located close to Blythswood Square, where I worked for 8 years. I know this corner of the city centre so well. 

I don’t have much time to dwell on it. I’ll be away from the hotel by 7.30am. 

The Blip is part of the building on Blythswood Square which I worked in until 1999. My room was on the first floor, just above the doorway, and Helen S had the room behind it. It was never used as a doorway. The entire building is now empty and “To Let”. 

In answer to the question in yesterday’s Blip, the question about the Haka/Marseillaise is a sharp one. Imanol is Basque. Even when playing for France he didn’t sing the French anthem. That’s why he chose the Haka as his preference.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.