Hardy

This is the wooden narrowboat, Hardy, built in 1940 then used to deliver coal from the Midlands to Banbury. It fell into disrepair and in 2014 sank in Braunston (where we were four days ago).

Recently it was salvaged by Tooley's Boatyard in Banbury and brought for repair but on the day we started our trip it was sunk again by 'the slowest hit and run in the country'. It was good to see they'd raised it a second time.

We packed, we said our farewells and we went to the station to hurtle alarmingly back into the 21st century.

Two students had a few hours in Oxford on their way home so I did an updated version of our June blipmeet for them, ending back at the station in time for their train to London. One minute into my walk home it started to rain and I realised that I have left my waterproof jacket on the boat. Not happy.

Back home the garden has turned green and very weedy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.