Cobwebs and Rain

Cobwebs and rain make a fine combination, especially if the rain has stopped and you can get the photos without having to worry about the camera!  I am fascinated by the abstract looking results despite the fact it is a picture of reality!
We said goodbye to our teenage visitors today. As usual after most visitor's departure it seems a little empty but also more relaxing to be on our own again. Of course we aren't on our own really because Rusty is still with us for two more days!
Walking with Rusty in the late evening we had a lucky escape. He was off the lead and sniffing a fine bunch of vegetation with great concentration, so I was a couple of meters in front. I came out of the trees and there were 5 elk (moose) right in front of me on the edge of the field. I swiftly retreated to Rusty and slipped the lead onto him before he noticed the elk. I could hear them running away at the same time. As we emerged together the field was empty again. If Rusty has seen them he might have been off after them and I'd have had to wait for him to return, which he always has done after a few minutes... There was also a slight risk the elk wouldn't run far, and instead stand their ground, ready to kick this upstart who was barking at them!  I was happy to have avoided the drama!
I am going to tag this picture "autumn" because it feels like that season is well on the way, even if summer is still hanging on. Walking out in the evening I put on hat and gloves for the first time since April, the trees are beginning to turn, the temperature was down to 3°C last night, and the air has a glorious clearness that we don't see in summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.