On Reaching 40

Although it was His Lordship who strode the Blipfoto stage yesterday, it should by rights have been Glasgow daughter who reached the - ‘I can’t believe it age’ of 40. Her husband arranged a surprise party on Saturday which has left her exhausted, socially and emotionally.

My blip is his drawing of her looking in the mirror to check for bags under her eyes. I’m not sure if they were expected because of age or too much partying. I thought they might have been tears she was wiping away.

Well the Festival went out with a bang and lots of rockets last night. I’m afraid I didn’t have the energy to walk the 500yds to the end of the road and watch the spectacle unfold over the castle. I certainly heard the explosions which seemed to rock the house and no doubt had every animal in the neighbourhood cowering under the bed.

This morning there was much dismantling going on as bill boards and temporary structures came down, and a lot of cases being trundled by visitors to the station.
Now we have a fortnight’s breather before the influx of students. Never a dull moment in the centre of Edinburgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.