Knitting Nellie

I’m having a breather from knitting hats for Maggie’s in Edinburgh and knitting a sock instead - there may well be a second sock to accompany this one if the going is good.

I have found Fairisle hat knitting therapeutic and fascinating at the same time. It’s like painting a design in coloured wool and because I am never totally pleased with the last one, I have to knit another to try and improve it.
When it comes to ‘dressing’ the finished article, it’s like watching magic happen. It’s wonderful how stretching it over an upturned bowl alters it to the better, and as for stretching it over a plate, wow, a beret appears!

I’m hoping my week in Shetland with Poppy at the Wool Week in Lerwick will increase my skills and teach me lots of tricks of the trade - just 4+ weeks and counting...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.