Detour

August's bivvy. For logistical reasons, it had to be on a Bank Holiday (in England). I wanted to go to the Lake District, and decided that after 18 months of doing this every month, I was ready to Just Do It (ie not plan where I was to spend the night).

I caught a train to Carlisle, another one to Penrith and a bus to Keswick. One look at the crowded High St sent me straight to the hills..in the direction of Borrowdale.

On the way, I passed Lingholm. I'd never heard of it before, but apparently Beatrix Potter spent her summer's here, and this beautiful walled garden is the setting for Peter Rabbit.

I didn't know how far I'd be able to walk with a full bivvy rucksack, but it turned out that the first hill was the hardest and after that I just kept on walking. On Cat Bells I met Miriam from Liverpool (see extra) who was climbing her first ever hill. 

After Cat Bells I was on my own for a peaceful walk up Maiden Moor and High Spy. At Dale Head Tarn it became wet and windy and there was still a couple of hours until sunset. I struck off down Tongue Gill to Borrowdale and decided to look for a place to stay on Castle Crag.

It was a 'hotel with no mobile reception, so here I am back blipping -)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.