It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

The relatives

I know very little about my relatives. I'm the product of the original mid twentieth century dysfunctional family with a mother who lived on Valium and religion and a short-fused father who expected a meal to be on the table at 6pm each evening. Very little was expected of me other than to be good, be self-less, go to Sunday school, be cheerful, do my homework, not ask for money and to get married as soon as possible. I was able to oblige in some areas but not others  :-))

However, these are my maternal grandmother's relatives, gathered together in 1917 for some sort of celebration. By the time I met the ones that were still alive in the 1960s they had rather lost their zest for life. Presumably stolen by living through a second war.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.