What is it?

If anyone knows, please let me know. I was over on the bluffs early this morning, walking along the path, and saw this. At first I thought it was some kind of really unusual insect, but when I looked closer, it appears to be an exoskeleton, but of what insect I don't know. I didn't stay long as it's hotter than blazes and the humidity is at 88%! I went back home to collect Tom and Mae, and we drove to meet my 93 year old aunt, my brother and my sister for a late breakfast. It's the first time Tom's been out at a restaurant in months, and when we arrived, the hostess took us to the private back dining area. She said my brother had called ahead and asked if we could be seated there so that there wouldn't be any other people around us because of Tom's illness. Very thoughtful of my brother, and very accommodating of the restaurant!  We had a great visit, and it's probably a good thing we were separate from everyone else, as there was a whole lot of laughing going on!  :))
Thanks to Osuzanna for hosting TT this month! 
**Addendum: This has been Identified as a JAGGED AMBUSH BUG--           thanks to DBifulco!! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.