Autumn curtain

I woke up to a sunny sky with a brisk autumn chill to the air. Perfect.

Today's walk took us down beside the River Earn and every now and then the sun broke through and cast long shadows from the trees lining the path, lighting up the clear water of the river as it did so. Cara and Bruce had a great time and met several other dogs whose owners were also making the most of the gift of a fine morning. At one point we met, en masse, three other retrievers, a terrier of sorts and a mad red setter so it was all fun and games until the mad red setter, called Harry took a fancy to Cara and gave chase, knocking Bruce over in the process. He was sorely miffed and decided to herd the setter away from his girl. Harry, however, was not to be put off and so Bruce became a bit more assertive at which time I decided to intervene and called him in to heel so that Harry could have a chance of returning to his owners who were whistling for him in vain.

The ferns and bracken are looking fabulous just now with their rich sienna colouring and I loved how they glowed in the sunlight against the backdrop of the river.

Once home I attempted to do a bit in the garden, specifically potting up some tulip bulbs. The rain however decided to make an impact on the day and by the time I had finished, my hands were wet and freezing so I called it a day.

I am now looking forward to Strictly from Wembley with my quilt on my knee to keep me warm while I work on it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.