NellieD

By NellieD

Leave your ego at the door

I'm not sure when this new restaurant opened but the sign caught my eye as I saw someone taking a photo of it this morning. Fellow blipper perhaps! I managed to pull up and take a quick picture before work.

I really love the sign and I hope the words are just there to make everyone smile, and it's not a stern warning because this is the sort of behaviour the restaurant have been used to.

I'm a firm believer in being kind to everyone you meet. Why would you choose to be anything else?

As a Meetup organiser, I meet new people all the time, people who've decided to take a deep breath and join one of my groups by walking into a room full of people they don't know. That takes a lot of courage and can be a really daunting task, especially if you're shy and an introvert (like me). 

When my husband came home one night in 2013 and told me he'd been asked to be Captain of the golf club, I knew I had to find a social life as I wouldn't see him for 12 months! 

I can clearly remember my very first meetup, stood in the doorway wanting to go home, worrying that no-one would like me or talk to me! It was awful and I wondered why on earth I was putting myself through the torture. What I didn't imagine was I would be out till 1 am that night and the very first person I met, would still a good friend 5 years on.

For me, the one thing I can offer to the person who's standing in the doorway like a startled rabbit is a warm smile and a friendly welcome. Bad vibes and big egos are the last thing I would ever want anyone to feel which is why this sign struck such a chord with me today.

Quote for today:
Be kind whenever possible.
It is always possible.
- Dalai Lama XIV

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.