Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Apple Orchard Visit

Joyce and I were heading to our respective homes today but before we got on the road we drove to a nearby apple orchard where we got photos and bags of fresh apples.  I also got peaches as big as a softball!     I picked out the apples I wanted and filled my bag with different varieties.  We did get to taste those varieties that we were not familiar with..which was a great idea as there were two that I had never tried before.   Both were good..one variety is going to be cooked in a cobbler for sure. 

I plan to go back up to this area in late September or early October as the orchard has different varieties that are ripe later in the season.  The orchard also has a corn maze, kids play area and some other things for fall..maybe a hay ride.    

I only had to drive two hours to get home..I am sure Joyce is going to have a long day to get back to her home in Florida!   We are both tired but it is so worth it to see the sights and enjoy the time together taking photos.   

While I was driving home a friend messaged me that her cousin had a grape arbor full of grapes and she could come and get what she wanted...so she asked me to go with her tomorrow.  These are scuppernong grapes,  a light skinned grape in the muscadine family.  They make wonderful wine and jam too!   Thankful for my friend to think about me..maybe she wants me to make her some jam!       

We will have to get out early as the temperatures here at home are back up to really hot!   I already miss the cooler temps in the mountains!  

I hope to catch up with looking at journals and commenting now that I am back home!    As soon as I get a nap!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.