Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Everybody's blind when the view's amazin'

A painted rock yesterday at the entrance to Botany Bay's beach path where there are amazing views.    It made me stop to think about how I love the little, mundane every day things that are not the big spectacular views.  Like a vine growing on a wall or some fallen flowers on a step.   I don't feel that I qualify as a blind "everybody" as I SEE these little things and appreciate them as much as the big amazing view.  

I posted an amazing view in the extras!  I love the tranquility of this photo. It could have been the main photo but I think the little things deserve a photo too. 

This is the second week of Kim Klassen's month of mulitples workshop that I am taking and the theme is documenting real life.   She speaks about taking photos of the every day things in our life, like walking dog, doing dishes,etc.     So my photos have been documenting what I found the most joyful every day.   Seeing the small things and the big things. Slowing down and really looking.       I suppose the class is supposed to make us take better and varied photos but it makes me think about what I am taking a photo of and how I feel about the subject.   Of course, I have been taking a gazillion photos to try to get different viewpoints and different kinds of photos such as blurry and out of focus.  But I already do this anyway!      Trying to convey a story in a collage or in a series of photos without using words means work for my mind to come up with the best photos for it.        Just like this little story above.   

A day of rest today...I need to clean the sand out of my car but there is always tomorrow for that!     The ankle is feeling great today even after the traveling and walking at the beach.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.